The past and future of Tasmania’s renewable energy mission brought to life in new campaign via The20, Fortress Films and Justin McMillan


The20 and Fortress Films have collaborated to create ‘Powered by Tasmania’, a multi-staged campaign that tells the story of Tasmania’s remarkable energy journey, while sharing a vision of a renewable future.


Says Marcus Murphy, creative director at The20: “The work sets out to tell a simple story in the most beautiful way possible. It’s a story that reminds us all that we’ve done this before, and we can do it again. And it’s not just the convenient parts – a lot was sacrificed, and mistakes were made. We’ve tried to put it all in there, while inspiring our audience to get behind a renewable future.”

Ian Kenny from Fortress Films, led the production of the screen piece.

Says Kenny: “From the moment we received the brief we knew this was a wonderfully challenging project we had to embrace. The logistics, locations and schedule were a massive challenge – that said, Tasmania is truly a wonderfully rich landscape to capture.”

The two-minute hero piece was helmed by acclaimed director Justin McMillan.

Says McMillan: “The20’s creative team had written a beautiful manifesto around ‘Powered By Tasmania’ and we knew exactly the tone of the story they wanted to tell. I’m also an environmentalist at heart, so I found the conflict of harnessing the power of nature to create clean energy to be an interesting juxtaposition to get my head around.”

The campaign will roll out in multiple stages over the coming months, with the next phase being an activation that demonstrates the benefits of electrification to individuals, households and communities.

Creative Director – Marcus Murphy
Managing Director – Matt Fishburn
Agency Producer – Kali Bean
Senior Art Director – Jay Perrett
Senior Writer – Robbie Arnott
Senior Account Director – Kayne Wilkinson

Fortress Films
Director – Justin McMillan
Producer/Assistant Director – Ian Kenny
Line Producer – Brian Ho
Director of Photography – Joshua Lamont
Editor – Lucas Vasquez
Original Score – Michael Yezerski
Post-house – Alt Vfx
Sound Design – George Goerss, Sonic Solutions