Google Creative Labs Sydney creative director Tea Uglow and Aussie expat Mietta McFarlane join Next Creative Leaders global jury

| | 1 Comment
Google Creative Labs Sydney creative director Tea Uglow and Aussie expat Mietta McFarlane join Next Creative Leaders global jury Google Creative Labs Sydney creative director Tea Uglow and Aussie expat Mietta McFarlane join Next Creative Leaders global jury

The One Club for Creativity, the world’s foremost non-profit organisation recognising creative excellence in advertising and design, and The 3% Movement, a leading ad industry voice for gender equality and diversity, today announced the global jury for their joint Next Creative Leaders 2019 program.


Representing Australia on the jury is Tea Uglow (above), creative director at Google Creative Labs in Sydney. Also on the jury is Aussie expat Mietta McFarlane (top), senior copywriter at Droga5, New York, who last year was selected as one of 10 Next Creative Leaders.

Developed collaboratively by the two organisations in 2015, Next Creative Leaders identifies, celebrates and gives a global platform to talented creative women who are making their mark on the world with both game changing work and a unique point of view on creative leadership that’s changing the industry for the better.

Entries highlighting a candidate’s creativity, leadership and unique point of view can be submitted to Deadline for submission is August 9, 2019, there is no fee to enter.

The complete list of Next Creative Leaders 2019 judges, representing 10 countries and including seven past NCL winners, is below:

Nedal Ahmed, senior creative, 72andSunny, Amsterdam (NCL ’18)
Gail Anderson, creative director, School of Visual Arts, New York
Lisa Balser, creative director, freelance, Atlanta
Endre Berentzen, chief creative officer, cofounder, ANTI Norway, Bergen
Ron Burrage, head of beverage design, Pepsico, New York
Luis Camano, chief creative officer, founder, Key Activations, Los Angeles
Bram Ceuppens, senior creative, Heat, San Francisco
Soham Chatterjee, senior creative, Leo Burnett, Chicago
Charlotte Clymer, press secretary, Human Rights Campaign, Washington, DC
Elaine Cox, executive creative director, Heat, San Francisco
Sarah DiLeo, executive producer, Sister, New York
Jenny Ehlers, executive creative director, King James, Cape Town
Karrem Fahmi, executive creative director, cofounder, Factor, Oakland
Roberto Fara, executive creative director, R/GA, New York
Amy Ferguson, executive creative director, TBWA\Chiat\Day, New York
Raul Garcia, executive creative director, Momentum, Toronto
Kim Goulbourne, founder, Made by Bourne, New York
Piper Hickman, executive creative director, 360i, New York
Maddy Kramer, associate creative director, Anomaly, New York (NCL ’18)
Nils Leonard, chief creative officer, Uncommon, London
Eduardo Marques, chief creative officer, Publicis Spain, Madrid
Julie Matheny, associate creative director, Droga5, New York (NCL ’18)
Mietta McFarlane, senior copywriter, Droga5, New York (NCL ’18)
Megan McGlynn, creative director, writer, freelance, Chicago
Krystle Mullin, creative director, RPA, Santa Monica (NCL ’18)
Julia Neumann, executive creative director, TBWA\Chiat\Day, New York
Malcolm Poynton, global chief creative officer, Cheil Worldwide, London
Ryan Robertson, brand director, Diageo, New York
Adama Sall, cofounder, Apollo 51, head of strategy, East, Mekanism, New York
Julie Scelzo, global executive creative director, mcgarrybowen, New York
Lora Schulson, director of production, 72andSunny, New York
Aaron Shimer, director of product marketing, HiRoad, Chicago
Jessica Shriftman, creative director of brand, Billie, New York (NCL ’18)
Sbu Sitole, chief creative officer, The Odd Number, Johannesburg
Gayatri Sriram, digital creative head, FCB Ulka, Delhi (NCL ’18)
Tea Uglow, creative director, Google Creative Labs, Sydney
Mike Wente, chief strategy officer, Swirl mcgarrybowen, San Francisco
Pete Williams, creative director, GPJ, New York
Sherman Winfield, creative director, Fitzco, Atlanta
Kelly Woh, group creative director, Ogilvy, Shanghai

This year’s 10 winners will be revealed at The 3% Conference at the Navy Pier in Chicago, November 7-8, 2019, with some of them in attendance to speak.

To make Next Creative Leaders as open and accessible as possible, there is no fee to enter the competition. Entrants are judged on four-to-six pieces of creative work, their background and information about how they — and their work — are pushing the industry forward and making a positive contribution in terms of diversity, mentoring and advocacy. Winners will be selected by a jury of top creatives and diversity advocates, including past Next Creative Leaders winners.